#### LAWS OF GUYANA

# GUYANA (DIVISION INTO COUNTIES) ACT CHAPTER 19:01

Act 1 of 1838 Amended by

3 of 1928 24 of 1969

## **Current Authorised Pages**

Pages (inclusive)			Authorised
			by L.R.O.
1	-	4	 1/2012

#### LAWS OF GUYANA

Note

on

## Subsidiary Legislation

The Chapter contains no subsidiary legislation.

3

#### CHAPTER 19:01

## GUYANA (DIVISION INTO COUNTIES) ACT

#### ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

SECTION

- 1. Short title.
- 2. Counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Berbice.
- 3. Interpretation of "district" or "Colony.

1929 Ed. c. 3 1953Ed c. 55

An Act to divide Guyana into Counties.

[10th February, 1838]

Short title. **1.** This Act may be cited as the Guyana (Division into Counties) Act.

Counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Berbice. **2.** From and after the commencement of this Act Guyana shall be divided into three distinct and separate counties, and in future Demerara shall be called and styled the county of Demerara, Essequibo shall be called and styled the county of Essequibo, and Berbice shall be called and styled the county of Berbice.

Interpretation of "district" or "district" or "districts" or "Colony." [24 of 1969] **3.** Whenever the word "district" or "districts" or "Colony" or "Colonies," is used or indicated in any Acts, Ordinances, publications, or proclamations, or in any law relating to procedure in civil or criminal causes, or in any rules or regulations whatsoever, whether made in and for Demerara, or Essequibo, or Berbice severally, or in and for Demerara and Essequibo united, or for Guyana generally, that word shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be deemed, considered, and taken as thereby designating the several respective counties named in the preceding section to which it is applicable by name in any of those Acts, Ordinances, publications, proclamations, laws relating to procedure, or rules and regulations.